SYNLETT Best Paper Award 2023: Catalytic Enantioselective Desymmetrization of meso-Cyclopropane-Fused Cyclohexene-1,4-diones by a Formal C(sp2)–H Alkylation

Santanu Mukherjee gives further insights to his award-winning paper on a catalytic enantioselective desymmetrization reaction.

The award-winning article presents the use of a formal C(sp2)–H alkylation to achieve the catalytic enantioselective desymmetrization of meso-cyclopropane-fused cyclohexene-1,4-diones. Santanu Mukherjee and Sayan Ray from The Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore (India) are recognized for the description of an extremely elegant and highly enantioselective approach to desymmetrize bicyclo[4.1.0]heptenes. Their organocatalytic reaction features the use of nitroalkanes as source of alkyl groups in a C(sp2)–H alkylation. The method is applied in the first enantioselective synthesis of 3-carene-2,5-dione.

Read the full article Interview with the SYNLETT Best Paper Award Winners 2023

Get Trial Access to the chemistry journals
Download SYNFORM or read it online