Science of Synthesis Knowledge Updates – New Volume Editors Announced

Marc Taillefer and Samir Zard new editors for content related to nitrogen functional groups

We are delighted to announce two additions to the line-up of editors for the Science of Synthesis Knowledge Updates, who will be overseeing important updates on various topics relating to nitrogen-based functional groups:


Prof. Marc Taillefer (Institut Charles Gerhardt Montpellier, France), will be the Volume Editor for content relating to Volume 40 “Amines, Ammonium Salts, Amine N-Oxides, Haloamines, Hydroxylamines and Sulfur Analogues, and Hydrazines”


Prof. Samir Z. Zard (École Polytechnique, Palaiseau, France), is the new Volume Editor for Volume 41 “Nitro, Nitroso, Azo, Azoxy, and Diazonium Compounds; Azides, Triazenes, and Tetrazenes”.


Volume 40 of SOS was published in 2009 (Volume Editor: Prof. Dieter Enders and Prof. Ernst Schaumann) as two volumes covering methods for the preparation of various classes of compounds that possess an C(sp3)−N bond, including amino compounds (alkylamines, propargylic amines, allylic amines, aziridines, etc.), hydroxylamines, and hydrazines.


Marc Taillefer studied chemistry and earned his Ph.D. from the University Paul Sabatier, Toulouse, France, under the supervision of Igor Tchatchenko and Jean-Jacques Brunet in 1989. From 1990 to 1991, he was a postdoc at the Technische Universität München, Germany, with Wolfgang A. Herrmann. He became a CNRS researcher at the Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Chimie de Montpellier (ENSCM) in 1992 and CNRS Research Director in 2004. He is currently the Head of the Méthodologie de Synthèse Moléculaire team at the Institut Charles Gerhardt Montpellier (ICGM)/ENSCM. His research focuses on the discovery of breakthrough methodologies in the field of organic synthesis and homogeneous catalysis (C−N, C−O, and C−C bond formation via copper-, iron- and manganese-catalyzed arylation of nucleophiles, transition-metal-free coupling reactions, and functionalization of unsaturated compounds), as well as phosphorus chemistry (synthesis, reactivity, and applications of phosphonium ylides). Among many other commitments, Marc Taillefer was President of the French Chemical Society’s Organic Chemistry Division from 2012 to 2015. He was awarded the Grand Prix Emile Jungfleisch de l’Académie des Sciences of the French Academy of Sciences in 2017, and the European Sustainable Chemistry Award of the EuChemS in 2012, among many other honors. From 2018 to 2021, he was the President of the French Chemical Society (SCF).


Volume 41 of SOS was published in 2010 (Volume Editor: Prof. Klaus Banert), and also covers several classes of compounds with an C(sp3)−N bond. The particular functional groups covered in this volume include nitroalkanes, nitrosoalkanes, N-nitroamines, and azidoalkanes.


Samir Z. Zard was born in 1955 in Ife, Nigeria. His training as a chemist started at the American University of Beirut, then at Imperial College, London, and finally at the Université Paris-Sud, Orsay, France, where he received his doctorate under the supervision of Professor Sir Derek Barton in 1983. His main research concerns the study and development of new reactions and processes, with a special interest in radicals, organosulfur derivatives, alkynes, and nitro compounds. He is currently an emeritus professor at Ecole Polytechnique and "Directeur de Recherche Classe Exceptionnelle" in the CNRS. In addition to a number of academic awards, he received in 2007 the Croix de Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur.